What is ITIL V3?

ITIL is a framework of best practices and processes that can be adopted to provide IT Service Management (ITSM) . Since its first publication in the 1980s, ITIL has been used as one of the most widely used frameworks in organizations to deliver ITSM. This framework. emphasizes cost-effectiveness while improving customer satisfaction by providing effective services.

ITIL V3, the third edition of the ITIL Best Practices Framework, was released in 2007. ITIL V3 was updated in 2011 and is also known as ITIL 2011 V3. This latest version contains strategic elements to better adapt IT service management to your business requirements and is better suited to today's business environment.

ITIL V3 Basics

ITIL V3 Incident Management

In today's business environment, it is imperative to work seamlessly without obstacles. If a service in your organization fails unexpectedly, you lose productivity. The ITIL V3 Incident Management Process employs a set of best practices for effective incident handling and incident resolution to ensure smooth business operations with minimal or zero downtime.

ITIL V3 change management

No organization can avoid change. Technology is constantly changing and needs to be replaced. You will also need to upgrade your existing solutions / applications. ITIL V3 provides a set of best practices called change management to efficiently process, prioritize, and deploy changes. Make effective use of change management and avoid downtime.

ITIL V3 Problem Management

The problem management team performs root cause analysis (RCA) to find permanent fixes or workarounds for recurring incidents. To avoid the occurrence of serious incidents, it is recommended to have an effective communication strategy and follow a proactive approach. A problem is one or more incidents of unknown cause. Problem management maintains a known error database (KEDB) with an unknown solution.

ITIL V3 framework

ITIL V3 consists of five sections: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operations, and Continuous Service Improvement. Let's take a look at the contents of each section.

  • Strategy generation
  • Financial management
  • Demand management
  • Service portfolio management

ITIL service design

This section determines the design of the IT service, which consists of architecture, process policy documents, to meet the business requirements of the organization. Service design involves seven processes:

ITIL service transition

The ITIL service transition phase ensures that the current state of the service is not compromised when organizational changes are deployed. Service transitions have seven processes:

ITIL service operations

ITIL service operations are essential to ensure that your enterprise meets your requirements. This stage consists of processes and features to ensure a seamless flow of day-to-day operational tasks, monitoring infrastructure, and related services. There are five processes in service operation:

ITIL continuous service improvement

ITIL Continuous Service Improvement involves rigorous quality checks to ensure that service processes are consistently improved. There are three processes for continuous service improvement:


Differences between ITIL V2 and ITIL V3

Essentially, ITIL V3 or ITIL 2011 builds on ITIL V2 operational processes and best practices, and is designed to make IT service management more comprehensive for today's business environment. Founded in the 2000s, ITIL V2 was more process-focused.

ITIL V3 maintains the five lifecycle publications included in previous versions. However, ITIL V3 has a very important upgrade. At ITIL V3, we focus on strategic elements and focus on aligning ITSM with our business goals. Let's take a closer look at the differences between ITIL V3 and the older version ITIL V2.

ITIL V2はプロセス指向で、組織とITSMアプローチをモデル化したもの ITSMに対するサービスライフサイクルアプローチの重視
ITIL V2ではプロセス領域はグループ化 各プロセスにおける役割と責任を明確に定義
7冊のコア書籍 5冊のコア書籍
ITIL V2には1つの機能と10のプロセス 4つの機能と25のプロセス
ITIL V2のプロセスは効率的で費用対効果に優れている ここでのプロセスは、効率的で費用対効果が高いだけでなく、サービスアプローチを戦略的に重視することを目的としている

ITIL V3 certification

ITIL V3 has grown significantly in popularity over the last few years and has become one of the most widely used methods for ensuring a seamless flow of ITSM processes. Due to its widespread acceptance and popularity around the world, ITIL V3 certification has become one of the most sought after certifications in the IT industry. As mentioned earlier, ITIL V3 is more suited to current business requirements and ITIL V3 certification can be obtained after completing the following five levels:

Foundation level

This is a beginner-level certification that provides basic terminology and concepts in the ITIL Service Lifecycle, interactions between different lifecycle stages, and general knowledge of the processes employed by ITSM.

Practitioner level

The second stage of the ITIL certification level is the practitioner level. This level provides ITIL-certified candidates with the ability to adopt and maintain ITIL.

Intermediate level

It is a module level with an emphasis on IT service management and is certified in the IT industry as an intermediate level.

Expert level

Candidates with expert-level certification implement ITIL V3's best-practice skills and have a detailed and in-depth knowledge of the entire ITIL V3 process.

Master level

Candidates seeking master-level certification for ITIL V3 will adequately demonstrate their knowledge of ITIL V3 and provide support documentation containing the achievements achieved in the actual work that ITIL V3 has implemented in IT service management. need to do it.



ITIL V3 Foundation

The ITIL V3 Foundation is the first level of certification offered to candidates who want to become ITIL V3 Masters. The ITIL V3 Foundation level provides an overall understanding of ITIL V3 terms, basic definitions and concepts.
ITIL V3 Foundation Levels are available to candidates with the following goals:

I TIL V3 Foundation Level Exam Format

This certification is available to anyone who wants to learn about the ITIL process and is not eligible to take the exam. This allows you to start your career as an IT professional. Rest assured that there are no prerequisites for taking the ITIL V3 Foundation Level exam. The test format is as follows.

Other materials