Qu’est-ce qu’un centre d’assistance (Help Desk) ?

Un centre d’assistance est un endroit auquel une personne peut s’adresser pour obtenir de l’aide en cas de problème. Généralement, le terme est utilisé pour l’aide centralisée aux utilisateurs au sein d’une entreprise et est également appelé centre d’appel, centre de réponse, centre de soutien, bureau d’information, centre de solutions ou centre de ressources. Le centre d’assistance peut être un endroit que les clients appellent pour passer des commandes, suivre les expéditions, obtenir de l’aide sur les produits, etc. ou un endroit interne auquel les employés s’adressent pour demander de l’aide sur les systèmes informatiques, les problèmes de ressources humaines ou d’autres questions commerciales.

Il offre un point de contact unique aux usagers souhaitant obtenir de l’aide. Les centres d’assistance plus importants peuvent comprendre plusieurs niveaux d’assistance. Le premier niveau répond généralement aux questions les plus courantes et les plus simples, en s’appuyant souvent sur des scripts et une certaine forme de connaissances. Si le conseiller de premier niveau ne peut pas résoudre le problème, celui-ci est transféré à une ressource de second niveau capable de traiter des questions plus complexes. Les centres d’assistance peuvent également disposer d’un troisième niveau d’assistance ou supérieur, un groupe composé d’experts en la matière (PME) qui traitent des questions difficiles et/ou fournissent une assistance approfondie aux utilisateurs importants.

Help desks may go by alternate names such as: call center, response center, support center, information desk, solutions center, or resource center.

 

Centres d’assistance en informatique

Dans le domaine de l’informatique, un centre d’assistance est une fonction chargée de répondre aux questions techniques des utilisateurs (généralement des employés, des entrepreneurs et des fournisseurs). Les sociétés qui vendent des produits et des services informatiques à leurs clients disposent souvent de centres d’assistance informatique orientés vers l’extérieur pour répondre aux questions de leurs clients. Les questions et leurs réponses sont généralement transmises par e-mail, téléphone, site web ou chat en ligne. Pour les sociétés qui souscrivent aux définitions ITIL, le centre d’assistance est une composante du centre de service clientèle, qui s’occupe des fonctionnalités pour l’utilisateur final et assure la gestion des incidents pour garantir une résolution rapide des problèmes des clients.

À quoi sert un centre d’assistance informatique ?

Les centres d’assistance informatique peuvent être structurés comme des fonctions opérationnelles centralisées ou distribuées, assurées soit par le personnel de la société, soit par un prestataire extérieur. De nombreuses grandes sociétés font appel à plusieurs centres d’assistance, ainsi qu’à un réseau de fournisseurs et d’experts en la matière, pour assurer une assistance évolutive.

Centre d’assistance vs centre de services

Certains diront qu’un centre d’assistance fournit une aide, tandis qu’un centre de services fournit un service. (Ce n’est pas aussi simple que cela) Un centre d’assistance se concentre généralement sur les questions qui découlent des services existants, tandis qu’un centre de services répond non seulement aux problèmes, mais aussi aux demandes de service (nouveaux services) et aux demandes d’information.

Centre de services informatiques

Selon la définition ITIL, le centre de services est le point de contact unique entre le fournisseur de services et les utilisateurs. Un centre de services typique gère les incidents et les demandes de service et gère la communication avec les utilisateurs. Il s’occupe à la fois de résoudre le problème immédiat et d’améliorer la qualité et la performance des services offerts pour s’assurer qu’ils répondent pleinement aux besoins de l’utilisateur en prenant en compte un large contexte commercial. Le centre de services est un élément clé de la gestion du processus de gestion des services dans une perspective globale.

Centre d’assistance informatique

Le centre d’assistance informatique peut être distinct ou faire partie d’un service clientèle plus vaste afin d’améliorer les services clientèle de l’organisation dans son ensemble. L’objectif principal du centre d’assistance est la « résolution au premier appel ». Le centre d’assistance alimente le centre de services en jouant un rôle tactique et quotidien dans la réponse aux besoins des utilisateurs finaux. Le concept d’un centre d’assistance informatique est né à la fin des années 1980 en tant que capacité de support informatique pour résoudre les problèmes informatiques. Il était initialement centré sur l’informatique plutôt que sur l’utilisateur final, généralement sans objectifs de correction, et les corrections immédiates étaient peu fréquentes. Avec la prolifération des centres d’assistance informatique, les bonnes pratiques ont adopté des caractéristiques telles que les centres de service (bien que dans une mesure plus limitée)

Avez-vous besoin des deux ?

Un centre d’assistance (ou assimilé) est une fonction tactique essentielle à la résolution des questions et des problèmes des utilisateurs. Étant donné qu’un centre d’assistance adopte généralement une position plus proactive, en abordant des questions de nature technique moins urgentes, certaines sociétés n’ont peut-être pas « besoin » d’un centre d’assistance complet. Dans ces cas, de nombreuses intégrations du centre de services avec d’autres processus informatiques (tels que la gestion des changements et des problèmes) peuvent être intégrées en tant que composante de la fonction de centre d’assistance.

Logiciel de centre d’assistance informatique – Caractéristiques et avantages

Les centres d’assistance gèrent les demandes au moyen d’une sorte de logiciel d’assistance ou de système de suivi des problèmes, ce qui leur permet de suivre les demandes des utilisateurs, de trouver des réponses aux questions courantes et de classer par ordre de priorité les demandes en cours de traitement. Les contacts avec les utilisateurs se font généralement avec des employés internes et consistent en une combinaison d’e-mails, de numéros de contact et de messages instantanés destinés à fournir une assistance.

Avantages du logiciel de centre d’assistance informatique

L’utilisation d’une plate-forme logicielle pour soutenir le fonctionnement de votre centre d’assistance informatique peut apporter de nombreux avantages, notamment :

Caractéristiques du centre d’assistance informatique

Un logiciel de centre d’assistance informatique permet de rationaliser la gestion des incidents et d’autres processus d’assistance importants. Grâce à la capacité de résoudre les problèmes plus rapidement, le personnel de votre centre d’assistance peut aider davantage d’utilisateurs. Voici quelques-unes des principales caractéristiques d’un logiciel de centre d’assistance informatique moderne qui contribuent à la productivité :

En quoi un logiciel de centre d’assistance informatique peut-il aider ?

Bien qu’il soit possible de faire fonctionner un centre d’assistance sans l’aide d’une solution logicielle, il est probable que cela pose certains problèmes qu’une solution logicielle peut aider à résoudre. Qu’il s’agisse de naviguer entre plusieurs boîtes de réception e-mail pour obtenir un contexte complet sur le problème en question ou d’améliorer la productivité des conseillers et l’efficacité du centre de services, il existe une multitude de problèmes pour lesquels un logiciel de centre d’assistance informatique peut s’avérer utile aux entreprises.

Prise en charge d’un incident du début à la fin

Suivre des incidents au fur et à mesure qu’ils transitent par différentes équipes d’assistance est complexe et peut engendrer des situations frustrantes pour les utilisateurs finaux. Le logiciel de centre d’assistance fournit un endroit unique pour gérer l’incident depuis le moment où il est notifié jusqu’à ce que le problème soit résolu.

Interactions modernes entre les utilisateurs et le personnel d’assistance

Un logiciel de centre d’assistance peut offrir davantage de fonctionnalités de libre-service et adaptées à l’utilisateur, ainsi que la possibilité d’accéder aux ressources d’assistance où que l’utilisateur se trouve, à l’aide d’outils mobiles et d’interfaces web. Il met plus d’outils entre les mains de l’utilisateur et réduit la charge de travail du personnel du centre d’assistance.

L’automatisation du processus

entraîne une plus grande réactivité, efficacité et cohérence dans les opérations de votre centre d’assistance, ce qui lui permet de soutenir un écosystème commercial/informatique plus vaste et plus diversifié.

Des données pour soutenir l’analyse et la prise de décision

avec des renseignements exploitables pour aider la gestion des services informatiques de votre organisation à gérer les défis en constante évolution que représente la prestation de services efficaces dans des environnements de plus en plus complexes. Apportez à vos équipes une vue détaillée de votre infrastructure et de ses dépendances avec des données de diagnostic, des informations sur les performances et des connaissances exploitables.

Logiciel de centre d’assistance informatique pour des sociétés de différentes tailles

Dans de nombreuses petites sociétés, un centre d’assistance consiste simplement en une personne munie d’un téléphone qui met le demandeur en contact avec une personne ou une petite équipe de généralistes ayant « une vague idée » de la manière de traiter les problèmes qui se présentent. Dans les grandes sociétés, un centre d’assistance peut consister en une unité opérationnelle plus structurée, composée d’un groupe d’experts et de spécialistes qui doivent travailler ensemble de manière efficace pour résoudre les problèmes des utilisateurs. Les besoins d’une société en matière de logiciels de centre d’assistance seront fonction de l’ampleur de ses opérations, de la sophistication de sa fonction informatique en général et de la nécessité d’une intégration complexe avec d’autres systèmes.

Petites et moyennes entreprises

Pour la plupart des petites et moyennes entreprises, l’élément essentiel qu’elles recherchent dans les logiciels de centre d’assistance est la simplicité. Elles ne peuvent pas se permettre de supporter des coûts initiaux élevés ou des activités permanentes nécessitant du personnel spécialisé. Leurs équipes de centre d’assistance sont petites et les processus sont simples – c’est ce qui permet au personnel de porter plusieurs casquettes et de prendre en charge une grande diversité de problèmes. Leurs principales préoccupations sont la productivité afin de gérer des volumes d’assistance croissants, la garantie que les problèmes des utilisateurs sont résolus en temps voulu et la saisie de certaines données pour comprendre dans quelle mesure la fonction de centre d’assistance répond aux besoins des utilisateurs.

Grandes entreprises

Les grandes entreprises se tournent vers les logiciels de centre d’assistance pour gérer la complexité, assurer la cohérence, permettre des opérations à grande échelle et aider à gérer les relations avec les fournisseurs. Elles doivent souvent s’intégrer à d’autres systèmes informatiques et/ou soutenir un processus de gestion de services plus complet, ce qui peut nécessiter des intégrations techniques plus poussées, des processus robustes et des jeux de données plus complets.

Adhésion des logiciels de centre d’assistance informatique à l’ITIL

En fonction de la taille de votre société, la nécessité pour les logiciels de centre d’assistance de respecter strictement les processus ITIL peut varier. Les solutions de centre d’assistance, qui assurent la gestion des incidents sans processus formalisés pour les autres disciplines ITIL, ont tendance à se concentrer sur la restauration du client la plus rapide possible. Si l’adhésion à l’ITIL présente l’avantage de pouvoir tirer parti de processus prêts à l’emploi qui ont été élaborés sur la base de bonnes pratiques éprouvées, elle comporte également le risque d’introduire des frais généraux inhérents à l’ITIL qui sont inutiles pour de nombreuses organisations.

Les sociétés qui ont mis en place des logiciels de centre d’assistance vous diront que l’important est de trouver une solution qui vous offre les fonctionnalités (telles que la prise en charge des processus ITIL), les options d’intégration et le degré de sophistication dont vous avez besoin, avec la possibilité de « désactiver » ces processus et fonctionnalités supplémentaires dont vous n’avez pas besoin ou pour lesquels vous n’êtes pas prêt.

Types de logiciels centre d’assistance informatique

Logiciel de centre d’assistance basé sur le web

Parfois appelées SaaS ou logiciel hébergé en cloud, les centres d’assistance en ligne sont hébergés et exploités par un fournisseur de services et l’application est ensuite louée à des sociétés qui pourront l’utiliser. Les abonnés accèdent au centre d’assistance via le site web du fournisseur ou une application de bureau ou mobile installée localement et les données telles que les tickets, les profils d’utilisateurs et les détails des transactions pour les analyses d’assistance sont enregistrées sur le serveur du fournisseur.

Les logiciels basés sur le web étant gérés par le fournisseur, les sociétés qui les utilisent n’ont pas vraiment besoin de comprendre leur fonctionnement ni les modalités de leur maintenance.

Logiciel de centre d’assistance sur site

Les centres d’assistance sur site sont des paquets de logiciels sous licence qu’une société achète et installe/exploite sur sa propre infrastructure.

Le principal avantage d’un centre d’assistance sur site réside dans le fait que la société possède et contrôle à la fois le système et l’ensemble des données qu’il contient.

Un centre d’assistance sur site est souvent adapté aux besoins de la société et intégré à d’autres systèmes tels que la gestion de la relation client, la comptabilité, la gestion des actifs, etc. Le principal inconvénient est que les logiciels sur site requièrent des capitaux pour leur acquisition et leur mise en place, ainsi que des coûts d’exploitation permanents pour le déploiement d’une équipe technique chargée de l’exploitation et de la maintenance du système.

Plates-formes de gestion des services informatiques (ITSM)

Les plates-formes ITSM couvrent un champ beaucoup plus large qu’une solution de centre d’assistance autonome. Elles sont généralement construites pour soutenir l’ensemble des processus de gestion des services de bout en bout de l’organisation et adhèrent souvent à des normes telles qu’ITIL. L’ensemble des fonctionnalités va au-delà des fonctions standard du centre d’assistance, telles que le système de tickets, le suivi du temps et la base de connaissances, pour inclure des éléments tels que la gestion des actifs informatiques, la gestion de la configuration, la gestion des comptes, le traitement des demandes de service et la gestion des enquêtes.

L’ensemble amélioré de fonctionnalités d’une plate-forme ITSM est important pour les sociétés dont les fonctions de centre d’assistance dépendent fortement d’autres fonctions informatiques et/ou dont les conseillers du centre d’assistance ont besoin d’un accès direct aux ressources ITSM telles que la base de données de gestion des configurations (CMDB), les enregistrements de changements et les données de gestion des problèmes. Pour les grandes sociétés, une solution ITSM complète peut leur permettre d’évoluer, de soutenir des équipes distribuées et des opérations mondiales et de gérer un vaste réseau de fournisseurs et de prestataires de services d’assistance. Pour les petites entreprises, les plateformes ITSM peuvent ne pas être entièrement indispensables, mais elles peuvent fournir de puissantes capacités permettant à la société de gérer efficacement ses investissements informatiques au fil de sa croissance.

Ressources du logiciel de centre d’assistance informatique

What is a Help Desk?

A help desk is a place that a person can contact to get help with a problem. Typically, the term is used for centralized help to users within an enterprise and are sometimes referred to as “call centers”. The helpdesk may be a place that customers call to place orders, track shipments, get help with products, and so forth or an internal place that employees go to seek help with IT systems, HR questions or other business issues.

A help desk offers a single point of contact for users to get assistance. Larger help desks may include multiple levels of support. The first-level usually answers most common and simple questions, often leveraging scrips and some sort of knowledge. If the first level agent can’t solve the issue, it is transferred to a second level resource able to handle more complex issues. Help desks may also have a third or higher level of support, a group that is staffed with subject matter experts (SMEs) that handle difficult issue and/or provide enhanced support for important users

Help desks may go by alternate names such as: call center, response center, support center, information desk, solutions center, or resource center.

what is a help desk

Help Desks in IT

A help desk in the context of IT, is a function responsible for answering the technical questions of users (typically employees, contractors and suppliers). Companies in the business of selling IT products and services to customers often have externally facing IT help desks as well to respond to questions from their customers. The questions and their answers are usually transferred using e-mail, telephone, website, or online chat. For those companies that subscribe to ITIL definitions. the help desk is a component of the service desk, concerned with end-user functionality and providing incident management to ensure customers’ issues are resolved quickly. Some common IT helpdesk tasks include:

  • Act as a single point of contact (SPOC) for IT Support
  • Assisting in the procurement, setup and configuration of IT devices and software
  • Providing information and technical instructions to users
  • Tracking and routing incidents using helpdesk software
  • Performing basic incident and problem management.
  • Resolving access and permission issues
  • Facilitating the diagnosis and repair of failed devices
  • Managing a knowledge base of known issues and frequently asked questions (FAQs)
  • Providing self-service options for end users

IT help desks may be structured as centralized or distributed operational functions provided either by company staff or by an outsourced provider. Many larger companies leverage multiple help desks along with a network of suppliers and subject matter experts for escalation support.

Help Desk vs. Service Desk

Some people will say that a help desk provides help, whereas a service desk provides service. (It isn’t quite that simple) A help desk is typically focused on issues that arise from existing services, whereas a service desks assist with not only issues but also with service requests (new services) and requests for information.

IT Service Desk

The ITIL definition of the Service Desk (Service Operation) is the Single Point of Contact between the Service Provider and the Users. A typical service desk manages Incidents and service requests and handles communication with users. It is concerned with both resolving the immediate issue and improving the quality & performance of services offered to ensure they are fully meeting the user’s needs by considering a broad business context. The service desk is a key component of managing the service management process from a big picture perspective.

IT Help Desk

The IT Help Desk can be separate or part of a larger Service Desk operation to improve the overall organization’s Customer Services The primary goal of the help desk is “first call resolution” The help desk feeds into the service desk with a tactical, day-to-day role in responding to end-user needs. The concept of an IT help desk was born in the late 1980s as an IT support capability to fix IT issues. It was initially focused on the IT rather than end user, usually with no targets for fixes, and immediate fixes were infrequent. With the proliferation of IT Service Management best practices, help-desks have taken on characteristics like service desks (though in a more limited capacity)

Do you need both?

A help desk (of some sort) is an essential tactical function for resolving user issues and problems. Since a service desk generally takes a more proactive stance, addressing issues of a less urgent technical nature, some companies may not “need” a full featured service-desk operation. In these cases, many of the service desk integrations with other IT processes (such as change management and problem management) can be included as part of the help desk function.

IT Help Desk Software

Help desks manage requests by using some sort of help desk software, or issue tracking system, enabling them to keep track of user requests, find answers to common questions and prioritize the requests being worked on. User contact may be with either internal employees or external customers and include a combination of websites, contact numbers, instant messages, and emails to provide customer support.

  • Enabling staff to scale to meet the volume of customer requests
  • Setting expectations with requestors on the timing and type of response they will receive
  • Reduce the frequency of being shuffled through different agents
  • Avoiding wasted time and user frustration
Benefits of IT Help Desk Software

Using a software platform to support your help desk operation can bring many benefits, including:

  • Enabling staff to scale to meet the volume of customer requests
  • Setting expectations with requestors on the timing and type of response they will receive
  • Reduce the frequency of being shuffled through different agents
  • Avoiding wasted time and user frustration
Help Desk Features

Help desk software helps streamline incident management and other important support processes. With the ability to resolve issues more quickly, your help-desk staff can assist more users. Some of the key features of a modern help desk management system that help enable productivity include:

  • An efficient ticketing system for managing user issues
  • Multiple modes of user contact (email, phone, chat, web, etc.)
  • Built-in knowledge base for known issues and frequently asked questions (FAQs)
  • Workflow Automation to prioritize inquiries and route requests to the appropriate support resources
  • Contract / SLA management for managing help-desk performance and 3rd party relationships
  • Alerts and Escalations to help ensure timely resolution of issues
  • Agent dashboard that provides all the information they need in one place
  • Flexible Analytics and Reporting capabilities

Issues that IT Help Desk Software Addresses

While it is possible to operate a help desk without the aid of a software solution, doing so is likely to cause some issues that a software solution can help address.

Ownership of an incident from start to finish

Tracking incidents as they move through different support teams is difficult and can lead to frustrating experiences for end users. Help desk software provides a single place for managing the incident from the time it reported until the issue is resolved.

Modern user interactions with support staff

Help desk software can provide more self-service and user enabled capabilities along with the ability to access support resources from wherever the user happens to be through mobile tools and web-based interfaces. It puts more tools in user’s hands and reduces the resource burden on help desk staff.

Process automation

leads to greater responsiveness, efficiency, and consistency in your help desk operations allowing your helpdesk to support a larger and more diverse business/IT ecosystem.

Data to support analytics and decision making

with actionable intelligence to help your IT Service Management organization manage the evolving challenges of delivering effective service in increasingly complex environments. Provide your teams with a detailed view of your infrastructure and its dependencies with diagnostic data, performance information, and actionable knowledge.

IT Help Desk Software for Different Size Companies

In many small companies, a help desk is simply one person with a phone that connects the requestor to an individual or small team of generalists with “some idea” of how to handle the problems that come in. In larger companies, a help desk may consist of a more structured operational function staffed by a group of experts and specialists that need to work effectively together to solve user problems. A company’s help desk software needs will be driven by the scale of their helpdesk operations, the sophistication of their IT function in general and the need for complex integrations with other systems.

Small to Medium Businesses

For most small to medium size businesses, the key thing they are looking for in help desk software is simplicity. They can’t afford lot of up-front costs or ongoing overhead activities requiring dedicated staffing. Their help desk teams are small, and processes are simple – this is what enables staff to wear many hats and support a large diversity of issues. Their main concerns are productivity to handle increasing support volumes, ensuring users get their issues resolved in a timely manner and capturing some data to understand how well the help-desk function is meeting users’ needs.

Large Enterprises

Large enterprises look to help desk software to manage complexity, provide consistency, enable scaled operations and assist in managing supplier relationships. They often need to integrate with other IT systems and/or support a more comprehensive service management process which may require deeper technical integrations, robust processes and enhanced data sets.

Help desk Software Adherence to ITIL

Depending on the size of your company, the need for helpdesk software to strictly adhere to ITIL processes may vary. Help Desk solutions, which do incident management without formalized processes for other ITIL disciplines, tend to focus on getting the customer back up and running as soon as possible. While there is a benefit to ITIL adherence in being able to leverage out-of-box processes that have been built on tried and true best practices, there is also a risk of introducing ITIL overhead that is un-necessary for many organizations.

Companies that have implemented helpdesk software will tell you that the important thing is to find a solution that gives you the features (such as ITIL process support), integration options and degree of sophistication that you need with the ability to “turn-off” those extra processes and features that you either don’t need or aren’t ready for.

Types of Help Desk Software

Web-based help desk software

Sometimes referred to as SaaS or Cloud-hosted software, web-based helpdesk solutions are hosted and operated by a service provider and the application is then rented out to companies for use. Subscribers access the help desk via the provider’s website or a locally installed desktop or mobile app and data such as tickets, user profiles, and transaction details for support analytics are saved on the vendor’s server.

Because web-based software is managed by the vendor, the companies that use it don’t really need to understand how it works or the mechanics of maintaining it. Web help desk solutions are popular among small and medium businesses that lack an in-house IT function and larger organizations seeking to avoid capital expenditures for internal systems.

Most web help desk features are built upon industry standards like ITIL and are suitable to support the company’s help desk specific needs. However, as companies evolve beyond operating simple help desk functions and adopt more sophisticated service management approaches, they find themselves moving beyond stand-alone help desk software to more integrated service management platforms. As more large companies move to SaaS software models, web-based helpdesk vendors are enhancing their services to include enterprise-level features including deep customization and integration capabilities.

On-premise help desk software

On-premise help desk solutions are licensed software packages that a company buys and installs/runs on its own infrastructure. The main benefit of an on-premise help desk is that the company owns and controls both the system and all data within it. While many companies claim that this is necessary to address data security and privacy concerns or to enable integration with other IT systems, modern cloud-based solutions now offer similar capabilities. An on-premise help desk is often customized to the needs of the company and integrated with other systems such as CRM, accounting, asset management, etc.

The biggest drawback is that on-premise software requires capital to acquire and setup and ongoing operating costs to maintain a technical team to run and maintain the system. System maintenance and data backup for on-premise helpdesk software are the responsibility of the company, as are performing upgrades, applying patches and resolving performance issues. On-premise help desk software, hosted on infrastructure with an architecture that is lacking may also put the company at increased risk of security breach as compared to software hosted on a server of a vendor with a consistent track record in data security and privacy protection. Because on-premise help desk solutions often require a large financial investment and may involve deep customization, most on-premise help desk services are targeted to large enterprises with the resources and staff to support this type of solution.

IT Service Management Platforms

ITSM platforms cover a much broader scope than a stand-alone help desk solution. They are typically built to support the end-to-end set of service management processes of the organization and often adhere to standards such as ITIL. The feature-set goes beyond the standard help desk features such as ticketing, time tracking, and knowledge base to include things like IT asset management, configuration management, account management, service request fulfillment, and survey management.

The enhanced feature-set of an ITSM platform is important for companies whose helpdesk functions have a lot of dependencies on other IT functions and/or help desk agents need direct access to ITSM resources like the CMDB, Change Records and Problem Management data. For large companies, a full-featured ITSM solution can provide the ability to scale, support distributed teams and global operations and manage a large network of suppliers and support providers. For smaller companies, ITSM platforms may not be entirely necessary but can provide some powerful capabilities to help the company manage their IT investments effectively as the company grows.

Other IT Resources

Sign up for Freshservice today

Start your 21-day free trial. No credit card required. No strings attached.

Sign up for free